Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Date: 1961-09
(79 results)



Display: 20

    • Gate House and Centennial Gates

    • Gatehouses; Gates;
    • "Gates of 1886-1904 were located a distance upstream from present gates, approximately where Squirrel Run flows under the road. Before 1886 the gates were located several hundred yards above the present museum building. Alfred I. du Pont,...
    • The Lady Mill

    • Mills; Gunpowder;
    • "Known as 'lady mill' primarily because of small size. Sometimes it was used as an experimental rolling mill. Stone construction."
    • Elevator Site

    • Elevators; Sites;
    • "Used to raise cars ten feet to the upper track level, because of the steep grade; the elevator was a wood and metal structure."
    • Ingredients Store House

    • Storage facilities; Pumping station;
    • "This was a storehouse building which was originally much larger than it is today. It was undoubtedly damaged in the various explosions of the adjacent press house and rebuilt many times (the present condition shows indications of this). Part of...
    • Glazing Mill

    • Mills; Gunpowder;
    • "There are many references to glaze mills in Hagley yard but it is not possible to say with any certainty which refer to this particular mill. It is known that in 1873 it had one 16-hp wheel. It is of stone construction."
    • Picker House

    • Storage facilities; Carpenter shops;
    • "Believed to have been originally a dye house in connection with cotton spinning operation of Duplanty - McCall Cotton Company and its successors. Some time between 1885 and 1890 Francis Gurney du Pont established a carpenter shop in the building....
    • Pump House Site

    • Pumping stations; Sites;
    • "Investigation might reveal underground rooms and machinery similar to H-23 which provided the pressing power for H-47. See H-23 and notes and drawings in archeological file. This was a small sheet iron structure built over the turbine that...
    • Lower Hagley Yard Dam

    • Dams; Rivers;
    • "The original wooden dam was completely rebuilt In October, 1813, and repaired in 1838 at a cost of $250. In 1903-04 it was rebuilt of stone farther downstream by the Manufacturer's Construction Company."
    • Corning Mill

    • Mills; Grain industry;
    • "This stone mill was built before 1834. It exploded September 28, 1835, January 20, 1859, March 25, 1870, December 19, 1893, and in February, 1906 when Buck Buchanan ('Yaba's' brother) was killed. In 1873 it had one 16-hp wheel. Until 1908 this was...
    • 1876 Gates

    • Gates;
    • "Located next to blacksmith's shop, and put there partly as a barrier to sledding by children, which constituted a safety hazard. Controlled access to yard from residential areas of Free Park and Squirrel Run Village. Gate posts were of stone."
    • Blower and Flash Wall

    • Walls; Engine rooms;
    • "This building contained an engine which turned the raw steam from the steam plant into usable power to operate the glaze mill. May also have contained gearing connected to, and translating the power from, the turbine at the creek edge, which was...
    • Coal Mill - Site and Remains

    • Mills; Foundations;
    • "Built sometime before 1834, this building was both a sulphur and charcoal pulverizing mill. It was a large stone building valued at $3000 in 1834, and was also known as the dust mill, partly on account of the dust it created. At a later date it...
    • Press House

    • Garages; Ordnance industry; Gunpowder;
    • "This was a press house that was built after 1834 and before 1847. Most of the information concerning this building relates to the occasions upon which it exploded, which were frequent. It had three stone walls, and a wooden front and roof. On...
    • Roll Mill

    • Mills; Gunpowder;
    • "Built in 1836 of stone construction. [Unusual: apparently one level, no underground gearing. Door leads down instead of up. Probably had overhead gearing.]"
    • Pump House Site

    • Pumping stations; Sites;
    • "This was a small sheet-iron structure built over the turbine that provided power for the pump that worked the hydraulic press. A cave-in recently disclosed a deep hole with a brick-arched tunnel below and a large room at bottom. The pipe from the...
    • Blacksmith Shop and Storehouse Site

    • Forge shops; Storage facilities; Foundries; Dwellings;
    • "It is not known when the stone blacksmith's shop was built, but it was in existence on the present site in 1834, when it was valued at $1000. At that time part of the building was an iron shop, part a foundry. It was originally much larger than it...
    • Oil Storage House

    • Storage facilities;
    • "This stone building was an oil storage house and utility building. It has been commonly, but mistakenly, known since 1952 as the "change house." There is no evidence that it was ever the change house, and there is good evidence that building H-43...
    • Packing House - Site

    • Ordnance industry; Gunpowder; Foundations;
    • "This was an all-frame structure built parallel to the road, with stone buttresses at each end. It was about 70 feet long and had a rubberoid tar-paper roof. The upstream portion of the building was used for keg storage; the middle area was used...
    • Lumber House - Site

    • Lumber industry; Storage facilities;
    • "Area in front of lumber house was where carpenters and millwrights constructed oak water wheels in sections. Building was of frame construction."

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK